Share |
Tune in to MERF Radio!Tune in to MERF!

Reader's Choice Winners -
2014 Favorite Radio Station and
Rocco Pallotto Favorite Radio Personality!

Reader's Choice Winner 2011 - Rocco Pallotto Favorite Radio Personality!
Reader's Choice Winners - Favorite Radio Station and Rocco Pallotto Favorite Radio Personality!

Visit WIEZ Radio's Website


Merf Radio Winter Sports Nominees (SAVE)

This will be the first year since 2011 that Seth Wagner will not win the Harry Rothrock/Dick Webber Award for Mifflin County's top boy's high school basketball player. Wagner has since graduated and is pitching in the Minnesota Twins farm system. The nominees for this year's award, given out annually by Merf Radio since 1979, are Curtis Jerzerick, John Michael Maclay and Hunter Wright. Jerzerick averaged 12.2 points and seven rebounds per game, while shooting 50% from the floor. Maclay led the team in minutes played, averaging seven points per contest. Wright, meanwhile, averaged a double-double at 14.5 points and 12 boards per contest. Wright and Jerzerick were also named Mid-Penn Commonwealth Division honorable mentions.

The nominees for the Jenna Feathers award, the girls equivalent of the Rothrock/Webber award, are Rebeka Knable, Mid-Penn Commonwealth Division second team all-star Ashleigh Williams and sophomore Jessa Wright. Knable led her team in free throw percentage at 73% and was second on the team in rebounding with 106 boards this past season. Williams, meanwhile, led the team in scoring at 15.6 points per game. She also led the Huskies in assists and steals. Not to be outdone, Wright shot a team-high 46% from the floor and was second on the team in scoring, checking in at 12.2 points per game. She was also a Mid-Penn Commonwealth honorable mention.

Hayden Hidlay, meanwhile, is the defending winner of the Rod Tate Award, which goes to Mifflin County's top high school wrestler. Hidlay, a sophomore this year, is again in the state tournament, as are fellow nominees Timmy Pearce and Noah Stewart. Hidlay enters states as a regional champ, while Stewart was second and Pearce third at their respective weights.

The Merf Radio Winter Sports Awards are voted on by area media. For more on voting procedures, histories of each award and past winners, log onto the Local Sports page at

Details soon on the time, date and location of the award ceremonies.

Morning Show   Pet Patrol   Retro Cafe    Classifieds

Contents © WMRF Radio and Seven Mountains Media LLC All Rights Reserved. :: Privacy Policy :: Terms of Use
Web Design © Homestead Graphics and Design